27 Comments
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

In addition to CO races and Biden-Harris, I have donated to Amy McGrath, Jaime Harrison, Mark Kelly and the DNC. My motivation is flipping the current senate seats of KY, AZ & SC. I also had some fun with GOP candidates who texted me asking for donations. I texted them telling them each time they requested a donation I would donate to their opponent. Mark Kelly got numerous donations because Martha McSally was slow to get the message. It was great fun!

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I donate to Sen Tina Smith, my MN senator. Every time Lindsey Graham begs for money, I donate to Jaime Harrison. I’ve donated to Amy McGrath to flip that evil turtle on his back. I’ve also donated to Meidas Touch, Biden (recurring), and other Dem candidates working to oust Repubs. ActBlue.com makes it easy to find candidates and securely donate.

I typically have not donated to candidates in other states, but this year is different. I’m so angry at senators like Susan Collins and other trump sycophants that I’m donating to create a blue tsunami.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

My list has changed as the weeks have gone on, but I've been focusing on the Senate because even if Biden wins, without a Democratic Senate things are going to be very tough.

I've donated to both Democratic candidates in Georgia, Jon Ossoff and Raphael Warnock, and assume I'll need to donate again for a post-November runoff. I've always shipped a few bucks to Doug Jones in Alabama because he's a good guy and, sadly, the one seat the Republicans could flip. And of course Mark Kelly in Arizona.

When Barrett's confirmation was jammed through, I immediately made another round of contributions, focused on 1) Democratic women candidates in honor of RBG, and 2) any Democrat who's running against a member of the Senate Judiciary Committee, also in honor of RBG. So that included:

Barbara Bollier in Kansas

Theresa Greenfield in Iowa

Sara Gideon in Maine

MJ Hegar in Texas

Amy McGrath in Kentucky

Jaime Harrison in South Carolina

Cal Cunningham in North Carolina

Dr. Al Gross in Alaska (he's an Independent who will caucus with the Democrats)

I'd also urge anyone to give money to my House race (NY-21), where Democrat Tedra Cobb is facing the ultra-Trumpy Elise Stefanik, who is still trying to portray herself as the great bipartisan Congresswoman. I haven't seen any polls and presume the race will be a tough one. But in a wave election, anything can happen.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I gave to my CO Senate candidate Hickenlooper and obviously Biden/Harris. I also gave to Amy McGrath, because she CAN beat McConnell; Jaime Harrison because Lindsey has got to go; Sara Gideon because Susan Collins hypocrisy is exhausting - also because these four seats are very winnable, and will give us the Senate. I also gave to SecureActBlue, so my contributions could be spread strategically where they are most needed.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

For the very first time in my life I have contributed to Democrats all over the United States. It started with Senators, South Carolina, Arizona, Maine, Kentucky. I live in Pennsylvania, my traitor of a Senator, Pat Toomey isn't up for reelection. But I will not forget that fact in two years. I have also contributed to unseat Kevin McCarthy, Jim Jordan and a few other House Reps. I have also contributed more money to a presidential campaign and my local small-town Democratic party than ever before. I am angry, I am motivated and I want the message to be clear. We will spend our money ACROSS the country to support people who are human beings. And if your blatant agenda is to de-humanize this country, I will spend against you as much as I can.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I have the good fortune to live in CA so my senators and representatives are safe and only needed my vote. However, our nation is crumbling and so I make recurring contributions to the Democratic Attorney General fund (Holder's org), the DNC, and the Black Lives Matter Support Fund. I've also made several one time donations to Amy McGrath, Jaime Harrison, Laura Underwood, and the Fair Fight Campaign. Once, (all I could afford) I made a donation to every democratic senate race in a tight race. My biggest concerns in this election are getting control of the Senate, ousting 45, and trying to change our judicial system so POC can actually get and receive real justice. I also make a recurring contribution to the Progressive Change Campaign in hopes of getting more reps and sens. like AOC in office.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I have donated to all the candidates individually in your list and some to DSCC, DCCC, DNC, Emily's list, Flip the Senate, etc... We need a democratic Senate if for some reason Biden doesn't get in!! 26 separate donations to Biden/Harris...we need to do this!

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I have used Nate Silver’s FiveThirtyEight to donate to all the close Senate races that had even chance of winning. A few hundred dollars less on the two races that were already hugely funded: Jamie Harrison in South Carolina and Amy McGrath in Kentucky. Otherwise broke the bank donating to Mark Kelly in Arizona, Alan Gross in Alaska, Jon Ossoff in Georgia, Steve Bullock in Montana, Cal Cunningham in North Carolina, Theresa Greenfield in Iowa, Barbara Bollier in Kansas, Sara Gideon in Maine, Hickenlooper in Colorado, Mark Warner in Virginia and MJ Hagar in Texas (Even!).

In the House races maxed out on my local Virginia-05 Cameron Webb who is about to make history when elected as the first Black physician in Congress from an historically red district! Other House candidates: Abigail Spanberger VA-07, Elaine Lucia VA, and Pam Keith FL-18.

It goes without saying: all in for our next president and VP, Joe Biden and Kamala Harris! Already voted early, but would have crawled on broken glass to the polls to vote.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I live in Oregon, where we luckily have good Democratic senators who are pretty safe in their races, so I focused on our local state House race and out of state donated to Rev. Warnock, Shannon Freshour, Jaime Harrison, Amy McGrath, Tedra Cobb, Doug Jones, and Sara Gideon (and of course Biden/Harris and Warren before she dropped out).

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Thank you for sharing your research and spin on current activities in this political hurricane. Keep it up!

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I have given to Biden, Arballo in my state. Also out of state Kelly, Harrison, McGrath. I want to flip the senate and clean up California. Dump Nunes and McCarthy

Expand full comment

thanks. been RT-ing as much as I can for Amy McG. & against others in Senate GOP who need to go since I have no money and get 50 emails a day asking me for $1 or $5 or $3 to help out.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

My husband and I are in CA and we have donated to Mark Kelly, Ossoff, Harrison, McGrath and a number of others around the country. We've also donated to the Lincoln Project. We donated because we know it is imperative to get McConnell and others out. They have done significant damage to our democratic systems and the republic will not survive another 4 years of the destruction they're doing. We're blessed that we both have good jobs and are able to donate.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Since COVID, we are down from 2 wage earners to 3/4 of 1. All I can do is call, text, RT, and email.

Expand full comment
founding

Thanks for all you do, Aimee!

Expand full comment
founding

Yes, I contributed to defeat Mitch McConnel and Lindsay Graham. Here in Texas, I have contributed to M.J. Hegar.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I found great value in the ActBlue predefined lists of competitive races. It's hard to keep track of where all the best races are in the country and even though there is some selection bias in making that list, I felt like my donations to the lists that split funds across the key races was a good way to get my money to go to important places.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I have given to the Biden/Harris campaign, DNC, TX Democrats, and other organizations, as well as multiple House and Senate candidates, both in my home state of Virginia and in AL, SC, CA, KY, GA, MI, ME, TX, AZ, NC, CO, IA, AK, and MT. Virginia has off-year state elections, so I will focus there in 2021. I contribute because I want to win the Presidency, expand our seats in the House, and flip the Senate.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Since i ahve been working from home, I have donated my "lunch money" to Biden-Harris, Amy McGrath, Sara Gideon, Jaime Harrison, Deerfield in Iowa and Mark Kelly! also Rev. Warnock. I also want to flip the Senate blue.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Since inauguration in 2017 I have committed to an affirmative action a day which has included donations to various candidates with a focus on the Senate. My favorite? The Get Mitch or Die Trying fund.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I have given to Jamie Harrison, Mark Kelly, and Amy McGrath. All outside my jurisdiction. Also Philip Arballo. And Biden, of course.

Expand full comment

I've given to Jamie Harrison, Mark Kelly, MJ Heger, Jon Ossoff, Ralph Warnock and Sara Gideon. In Michigan, I've donated outside my district to Jon Hoadley and Dana Ferguson. I have small amounts to each of those people not in my state or district because I believe that, the more Democrats we have representing all, the better off we are as a whole.

Expand full comment
Oct 29, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Biden/Harris

MJ Hagar Texas

Amy McGrath Kentucky

Jamie Harrison

Christina Hale Indiana

Sarah Gideon Maine

Mark Kelly early on he seems to be doing well I'm hoping he has it in the bag.

Put what we had left towards Amy McGrath MJ Hagar and Jamie Harrison.

We have robbed Peter to pay Paul, so we can donate like this! There are a few others we have donated small amounts to also.

we have to keep our eye on the seats that'll come open in 2 years to get rid of all of these traitors.

I will never forget the eight that went to Russia July 4th 2019!

Also working on everybody I know that is registered and getting them to vote.

it is hard when you know some of them will have to stand in a six to eight hour line! I haven't been on Twitter in a while because this is what I'm doing I'm offering rides whatever it takes!

4 days left.

Don't let up, on the gas.

Expand full comment