11 Comments
author

Anyone want to defend Garland...anyone?

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

By attempting to protect/preserve the DOJ, Garland is going to destroy it. I feel no confidence in the DOJ or Garland. I can’t believe we suffered and survived the last 4 yrs to now be faced w this bullshit. SMDH.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I think ppl forget that Garland was a compromise when nominated for SCOTUS. The man is very much an institution guy. As head of the DOJ, his first instinct is to protect the DOJ. In protecting the institution a lack of transparency and a tendency to carry on existing programs is going to be natural to him. The most egregious breaches will be dealt with but Garland is going to prefer to handle them quietly and behind closed doors, and probably only when they are made public. A free press is more important than ever.

Expand full comment

I’m not happy with Garland so far, we voted for what we thought would be our “red meat” moment and we’re getting “oatmeal”. I don’t like the attempt to preserve the DOJ as an institution it needs a rigorous, scorched earth approach.

Expand full comment

“it is worth noting that Garland has held his position for several months. The idea that he did not have previous knowledge about these previously undisclosed subpoenas and the subsequent gag order placed on those involved seems far-fetched.”

100% agree. It should NOT take public knowledge of these types of oversteps to cause an investigation. If the Biden admin can’t decide that Trump’s crap NEEDS to be investigated and, more importantly, PROSECUTED then they’ve already decided Democracy isn’t important enough to fight for.

Expand full comment

Love Merrick Garland, but his reaction has been what can most charitably be described as "timid". That's the nicest thing I can say about it.

Expand full comment

I find it hard to trust ANYTHING in government now that it has been tainted by the trumps. Everyone is covering their butts. This whole mess needs to be investigated by an independent, fully empowered authority that does not answer to congress, executive or DOJ. Have the State Police/AG's of the surrounding jurisdictions, postal police + MPD investigate top to bottom. No government agency can be trusted to police itself anymore.

Expand full comment

I think we all need to make phone calls to Biden .

The White House accepts those.

@resistbot I have that wrong I'm just not awake but there is an automated close to my spelling that will do it for you automatically and keep doing it daily if you ask it to.

That's where we need to begin hopefully there's people under Mr Garland that's doing what we need them to do. There is always hope.

And I'm glad I'm not the only one that feels this way at least I'm in good company.

Thank you Amee, for telling it like it is!

Unlike the media so far.

Last but not least,

I am banking on AG James.

I totally believe she seeks Justice.

And I have for 4+ years.

Expand full comment

I don't know, Amee. So far he hasn't been impressive. Maybe it's best to give him more time.

Expand full comment