45 Comments
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I love your tone, writing style, your POV. Often, by the time I get to your newsletter, what you’re writing about is old news (just giving constructive criticism 🙂) what I LOVE most is your insights. I would like more of your insider perspective and less recap of all that is going on. To stick out from the other news I get LAT, Wapo, Axios, I want perspective. Recently you explained the legal possibilities of something (damn I wish I could remember what it was, too early in the morn no coffee yet) something to do with Trump no doubt and it was exactly what I was looking for. I can read what has happened anywhere, but what that actually means in the bigger picture is much more important.

Expand full comment
founding
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I love Shero! Your reports are insightful and helpful! Don’t change a thing and keep up the good work!

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Since zero social media, I enjoy your recaps for the week. I need the legal POV you sometimes provide for the stories you're covering.

Expand full comment

What I like/love about Shero? Just about everything! I really enjoy your perspective on things. I especially love you when you get "personal" with us--your recent post about your aunt comes to mind (and again, I am sorry that her perspective on things is just so skewed), or when you share your musical playlist choices, or just post a photo. Thank you again!

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I so appreciate all the information, analysis and breakdowns that you provide for us all. Context is more important than ever today, and having true facts laid out clearly and concisely is invaluable. Thank you for all you do.

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I think you do a stellar job already!

Sharing the perspective with your aunt really helped me. I have two grown children out of four that have went that direction. It feels like sheer insanity.

One in Ohio, one is in Florida.

The one issue I would like to see covered is, how do we change the future of media? It really hit me the other day when I realized 64 million viewers watch Fox cable news, can't even call it, that yet they believe it.

What's the correct way, who do we petition for truth and honesty and when it's opinions both sides?

There has to be something we can do.

And I am lost for answers.

Amee, I really love your work!

I look forward to reading the newsletter.💗💯😍

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Amee;

Where to start; oh where,

Your thought provocativeness,

Your insight certainly, not from some dead letter office like some regurgitation of other new letters currently more current news rather then a history lesson unless making a point in an ongoing discussion. I like when MOM, steps in to support your point, or just clear the air.. proves a good editor is till worth something in modern journalism, not that you really need a counter point. I think your humor keeps things moving, and your overall functionally, based on space and time is great...I like Mike's idea about a coffee table book for annual publishcation would be a great asset, and now days you can sell as a NFT, too...

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

You should compile all these shero newsletters into at least 1 book....it would be a heck of a read as well as a bestseller for sure!

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I truly appreciate all that you provide...although I don't seem to get around to the playlists as much as I should. I appreciate your POV and your perspective as a lawyer. The summary of the weeks' news helps me to remember the critical issues and concerns, as there continues to be so much going on in our world. So far, nothing stands out for me in terms of a suggestion for a change in direction. Keep up the excellent work!

Expand full comment

I guess the truths in your posts are what makes me want to read you. I would also like to support your work, but the only method i have is via a bank transfer as i don't have a CC. Topics that interest me, Epstein, Yemen, Palestlne, Venezuela, Cuba, CIA, Nicaragua, corruption etc.

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I read every SHERO newsletter. I couldn’t say the same of WaPo, NYT et al. I particularly appreciate your legal background and perspective. You have answered legal questions for me numerous times.

I also value the occasional personal insights you share, such as photos and stories of you and your family. It gives me an understanding of you and your point of view.

Often the news you cover is more in-depth than I get elsewhere and that is useful in understanding the issues. Thank you for all you do, Amee!

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

To be honest, I look forward to your newsletters for the information and your take on current issues based on your expertise.

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I look forward to your newsletter. You have a very keen insight, and the public needs to see the problems we face from every angle in order to make informed decisions. Please continue to keep us informed of developments we might otherwise miss. Incidentally, I followed your experience with Covid-19 very carefully, and appreciate the effort it must have taken when you were so ill to continue informing us of your progress. Those of us who followed your story were certainly pulling for you. Thank you for all you do, and please keep up the good work!

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Yours is one of the few newsletters I receive that I actually read. I really enjoy and respect your voice.

Expand full comment

I love your newsletter, Amee; please just keep being yourself and sharing your insights and opinions!

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I followed you and other like minded, rational, critical thinking progressives on Twitter leading up to the 2016 election, and shortly thereafter, until I just couldn’t deal with the pro Trump bullshit a moment longer.

So, I subscribed to Shero and dropped Twitter.

Honestly, Amee, you have helped me maintain my sanity through the shitstorm of the Trump era. But mostly, your posts have given me a sliver of optimism.

I still worry about this nation and the future of democracy but I have truly come to believe that the majority of Americans are not idiots. The Right, well they’re a different story. Logic and truth be damned, the GOP, fueled by Fox News and their ilk, are a breed of ill informed conspiracy theorists who thrive on fear and lies but I cannot fully express my gratitude for your level headed journalism.

Cheers,

Chris

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I like everything about your newsletter. It was one of the life preservers I used during the epidemic of Trumpism. I know. I know. It's still out there. Wear a mask. Wash your hands. Prepare for the apocalypse.

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I enjoy your approach and greatly appreciate your explanation of the meaning behind the news.

Expand full comment

I agree 100% with Tracey. Give us your insights. Heather Cox-Richardson does this well in her “Letter from and American” every day. I subscribe to you as well because your insights are from a different perspective. You make important, and well-reasoned connections. Give us your analysis of whats important!!

Expand full comment
Jul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I so appreciate your writing and analysis of situations. You write with honesty and integrity, but always with an air of hope.

You shared insights into your covid experience that may very well have helped keep me out of the hospital (fellow asthmatic) when I had it. 💜

Expand full comment

Everything you do with SHERO is excellent. You keep us informed on issues we are all focused on. Your legal takes for all of us 'keyboard lawyers,' keep us in check and informed. Your focus on womens issues is necessary and appreciated. And last, but not least, your humor and sass, along with your Ameezing playlists are *chef's kiss* perfection.

Don't change a thing.

Expand full comment

Amee, you manage to be both personal and legitimately news. I can tell when you are giving your opinion and when you are reporting on what happened. This is important. I appreciate that we know you are a human dealing with human things, and we know how your personal life informs your views. I come from a very conservative Christian background, and while I was out early thanks to parents who started thinking, I still deal with those toxic ideas every day. Thank you for being a light. Now I just reread this, and noticed it's all about personal things. Your ability to bring together many different lines of information into a coherent story is fabulous. Keep up the detailed and complex reporting.

Expand full comment
deletedJul 9, 2021Liked by Amee Vanderpool
Comment deleted
Expand full comment