42 Comments
author

I'll start! Since being cooped up for a month as I recovered from coronavirus, I am now finally able to venture out and just take small walks in my neighborhood. This is something that I would have considered a waste of time before, but now I look forward to them. I put Vivaldi's Four Seasons on my headphones and just stroll and actually take in all of the beautiful yards full of flowers and the other people walking their dogs. I also find that people in Washington, D.C. have gotten a smidgen friendlier and they are willing to wave at me if I wave first. I encountered one guy in my neighborhood who was in his pajama bottoms and carrying an actual ceramic cup of coffee and just strolling. I stepped aside to give him a wide, mandatory 6 foot birth and he just looked at me with a cranky look and begrudgingly said, "hey" back to me. It was a "hey, can you believe how messed up this whole thing is and dammit, I'm making the whole block my house today" and I loved it.

As an Arizona-girl, who was raised to be annoyingly friendly, so I feel like I am slowly infusing people with the sunshine. People on Capitol Hill will never be perky, but dammit, I'm getting them to waive or utter cranky heys and I'm living for it.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I don’t do social distancing, I do distant socializing:-)

Expand full comment

I am here outside Madison, Wisconsin. In my early 60's so I am trying to be super careful. I feel so guilty saying this but this has been wonderful for me to be at home with my retired husband of 40+ years. I have been a full-time Realtor for over 30 years and raised three kids while doing it. I started selling homes before there was internet, emailing, cell phones, etc. I have never had a long stretch of time to myself unless I left the country for vacation. A "staycation" is something I've always craved and now I have it! I am loving every minute of it. I have kept very busy making homemade breads, trying new recipes, setting up a temporary green house for my new straw bale garden, cleaning out drawers, cupboards. And soon I will get out my sewing machine! I take my dog out for a long walk in the morning along the lake that my house has an amazing view of. An eagle flew right over my kitchen window this morning while I was pouring coffee. My husband is the best guy to be hunkered down with and I couldn't be happier. Pure bliss, I hate to tell you! I hope most of this will be permanent! Take care of yourself and enjoy your walks! I love following you on Twitter and reading your blog!

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

In a lot of ways my life hasn’t changed that much. I already worked from home and am an introvert and tend to have to remind myself to socialize. I am definitely spending less money (no massages, pedicures, hair etc) and can’t wait to go for a long walk every day. People here in Austin, are permanently friendly and laid back so that hasn’t changed. I do want to be in nature more which I can’t right now and have more appreciation for being around people - crave it! Since I live alone. Now that is new for me...missing being around people. I also really appreciate being able to go see my doctor. For over a month i have had a - it’s feels like I’m breathing on a smoggy day feeling - (no other covid symptoms) and have had phone consults with my doc but wish I could see him in person.

On another note, Amee, did you ever get an antibody test? I did a drive through (non FDA approved) and was negative. They are easy enough to have done here so it’s not in DC? You are my sHERO going thru such an intense covid experience, living alone. So glad you are doing better!

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

My daughter, in her early 30s living in NYC, wrote this piece on Medium. (https://medium.com/@jc_4208/28-days-and-counting-1b63cf526582) I appreciated her new view of this life.

Personally, I really like the quieter pace, but I happen to lean towards the introverted side. I like the relaxed tone of the nation overall -- no one seems to be too worried about appearance or perfection. We're kind of a "all in this together." A welcome change from "Insta-ready" lifestyles.

I also haven't spent as much money on frivolous things, which is great in a Marie Kondo way, but I also wish I could help stimulate the economy once again!

I also really, really appreciate good health. Now that we can't just waltz into the doctor's/dentist's offices, overall well-being is crucial.

Much to be thankful for, however I find myself struggling lately. As we all are.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

The virus and associated social distancing has surely opened my mind to the true realities of family and friends and the pure fantasies of a stable society and economy. I will no longer put all my eggs into the basket of focused capitalism. The system is a fraud. It does not care about me. It does not care about you. It is designed to swallow the intelligence and productivity of human beings in an incessant need to puke up profit for a handful of unethical, somewhat psychotic oligarchs, including the President of the United States. I don't believe that genie is going back into the bottle anytime soon.

Expand full comment

"As an Arizona-girl, who was raised to be annoyingly friendly"

LOL

I have noticed WAYYYY more people taking walks about the neighbourhood, and that is a good thing. Lots of happy dogs, too! My only regret is that for now, I am working more hours than ever at my job (I find that I'm working MORE hours to accomplish less, mainly because my firm's administrative staff is out of action for now), so I haven't really been able to stroll around myself. Hopefully, I'll get that opportunity. I've definitely picked up the phone and called more people, because with the line between social distancing and social isolation being an incredibly fine one, any human contact is welcome.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I come from a large family - lots of siblings, nieces and nephews. We try and get together at least once or twice a year. We are spread out but most are on the east coast. This unprecedented time has changed this. We have been having regular Zoom calls and it has been so good to see everyone. They are a bit chaotic but it gives us a chance to check in and stay in touch. I hope this continues once the world opens up again. Thanks for your voice. Hope you are feeling better.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Hey, y’all! Extrovert from NC here. In the main, us “out there” people have not fared well during lockdown. However, I have learned that solitude doesn’t have to be lonely. I’ve also gotten good at putting structure into a blank slate of a day. I normally need set tasks, appointments, and events to keep me motivated, so I’ve had to find ways to prevent myself from going into depressed sloth mode. (PS: Amee, so glad to hear you’re feeling better!)

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I have to say I am enjoying being in my shell. Most if not all of my anxiety is gone. Except for the new anxiety of this horrible pandemic & state we are in right now. And not knowing what is next, when we will emerge & how it will all look once we do. Where I live in the SF Bay Area people have been nice for the most part. Everyone crosses the street when they see you coming, especially with a big dog! No one wants to be close. And most people wave at you and say hello. There are cranky exceptions but I think it’s mostly because they are freaked out and scared.

My Mother who is in her 80’s is sheltered alone. She lives an hour away from me. She is pretty scared and worried. I try to calm her down through daily calls. Thank god she is a Democrat and I don’t have to deal with her watching Fox News. But still she is GLUED to the news. I’m not sure it’s the healthiest thing to do right now. But I get it, I have to stop myself from being glued. I read multiple papers and watch some shows. But am trying to limit myself and scale back now.

On one hand I really want to know the facts so I can feel some sort of security but there is no feeling secure with what is going on. The pandemic is ON TOP OF the most bat shit crazy administration the country has ever seen. Make it stop make it stop!! Aaaahhhhhh OK I feel better. :)

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Everyone has seen me as an extrovert ~ and while I truly enjoy hearing from and about folks in non-COVID and COVID times ~ I have come to realize that I am a peculiar introvert. I want to know that people are connected and connecting, supporting and supportive of each other and humming in community. But I really refuel when I am home and humming in my cocoon!!

I live along the battle lines of belief and disbelief. Meaning, I am living perched on the edge of a state line where one state is taking responsibilities seriously for protecting the humans who live within while struggling along side three states that have not issued stay-at-home advisories. Within the metropolitan area of Kansas City, there is definitely cross-county and municipal communication and agreement -- but Missouri has spawned (and deeply-right leaning Kansas follows) loud protests and suspicion of this "unnecessary caution." Not akin to MI activism ... yet ... but the impulses are pulsing just at the surface.

None of which squares with the painful reality and deeply scarring truth of inequity within and across state line ~ our family and friends in the northern urban county of Wyandotte and the third ward of Kansas City are suffering from cluster outbreaks, more profound illness and higher death rates than almost any other part of the metro. The food pantry I volunteer with is raising money and supplies, but cannot keep up with demand. It breaks my heart and strengthens my resolve for three things in our near & long future:

1) secure the 2020 elections by expanding access to the ballot and providing for all our safety (poll workers, election offices, postal workers and voters alike)

2) with new governance come November, squarely address the societal inequities we have purposefully baked into our version of capitalism... by (see 3):

3) reinvigorating our language and investing our common vernacular with hope, aspiration and inspiration for the biggest challenges still before us -- Climate Crises are writ both small/close as well as big/global and will make pale the cost of COVID if we don't rise to meet our moon shot.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

You had my at Vivaldi's Four Seasons, love it! Living very rural, oddly nothing has changed. It is quiet except for nature, my closet neighbor is 1/4mile over a ridge. So I do feel on top of the world. I have become somewhat introverted, because my business stopped. I hope to jump start my business, when this is over (?). If I can't, well then that's when I really will have to change. Right now it's one day at a time.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

This is funny in a sad way. My life hasn't changed. I'm retired and poor, no car, so I just stay home and fiddle around on line, or read, or do art. I have two close friends here in my complex, we meet up a few times a week to play cards. We're all very, very careful so I trust them to stay well. The only changes are masks and gloves at Wal-Mart. That's it. Now the rest of the country knows what living a small life is like.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Hi, Amee - so glad you turned the coronavirus corner and are feeling better!

Being annoyingly introverted ;) I've made very few changes to my lifestyle - the lockdown, though, has encouraged me to examine enforced isolation against my default behaviour. I thought there might be some psychological push back; reverse psychology nonsense. Nope. Not yet. It's going to be more of a challenge when I have to go out and be physically present among a crowd of people.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I get up really early in the morning and walk into town with my dog, Maggie May. We live in Laguna Beach and I love to wander past the shops while everything is quiet - except for the delivery trucks. We used to walk back on the beach, but in March the beaches were closed, that was a bummer. However, now my husband is working from home now - and said: "If you wait till the sun rises, I'll walk with you." So he's been joining us on our early morning stroll and I love it. I'm hoping we'll keep doing it after the world opens up.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Two things really jump out: we are calling our loved ones a LOT more, taking the time to actually converse and share. In that same vein, we’re encouraging our younger members to watch over each other, check in with each other, make sure each one is safe and healthy. The second thing is that we are eating much healthier (no sugar!), and taking walks to do local errands instead of taking the car. And we, too, are now more likely to wave to and chat (from a safe distance) with neighbors we’ve never before engaged and total strangers we pass on a hiking path or even a grocery aisle. It’s strange, but in an odd way we’ve become more focused on connecting with the world around us. I guess there really can be a silver lining to a dark cloud ☺️✨

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I'm over 65, lifelong asthmatic, diabetic, obese and have autoimmune inflammation problems. I've endured a lot in my day, including a terrible H1N1 infection several years ago. I also just retired after working for 50 years. I'll be pissed if this thing takes me now!

We are staying at home, at least until Gov. DeWine drops the stay-at-home restrictions. Even then we will be much more careful about what we touch and where we go from that March 11 onward. I will never hesitate to wear a mask. The first person to try to breach our doorway was a drunk Trumpster cousin who has advanced liver and kidney problems. I guess some people just don't care.

I've been a social justice and environment advocate since I was a young woman and will double my efforts to restore what has been taken and make the world a better place. We can do it!

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

It's amazing how crystal clear it looks outside. I regret the beaches are closed, though. I hope they open up in August or September. I finally focused on the keyboard. I practice more and yep, I believe I can do it.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

I, unfortunately, have gotten caught up in social media more than ever. I watched a video on how people should not do so much social media as it can make you very anxious. Last night, I decided to just check it twice a day versus all danged day long.

I’m so glad you are feeling better - enough to go for walks. You just keep doing you. Hugs.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Working from home. Many people couldn't. But many could. Many of those who can make it permanent. Avoid the commute, save commuting cost and hassle etc.

Expand full comment
Apr 17, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

No change here in Boise, Idaho other than the social distancing from responsible citizens. Even on our foothills trail system! But apparently our Boise River greenbelt path is crowded. So many families at home now, so I do forgive that behavior if parents are taking their kids outside. It really is about the great outdoors here!

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Sharing Wellness Tools and combining resources within our community. My friend is a dentist and had a 3 D printer and got the loan of another. We as a community are funding the printing of face shields and now masks. I've made it going out twice a month for groceries. Meaning more staples rather than impulse buys. Caregiving for my 92 YO Oma in Arlington, VA. My hubby and two sons are in Gaithersburg, MD also hunkering down, but less restrictive than myself.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Time outside at the places I love-the beach. Time with my extended family and friends. I can't wait to hug my mom and dad again.

Keeping up my garden. I've learned that 15 minutes of doing stuff has a huge impact of done daily. Reading books for the fun of reading.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Glad to hear you are doing better Amee! So scary! I live in the country, so I've been social distancing for at least 5 years. LOL! I'm definately taking this very seriously and don't plan on eating out or shaking hands for a very long time. I'm ok supporting restaurants with take-out and will try and do more of that. I'm just so furious right now at the Republicans in Colorado - attacking our Governor and using the term Nazism. Governor Polis is Jewish American and lost family in the Holocaust. The lack of compassion and empathy in Republican leadership is astounding to me. It's all about money, money, money. Sorry; I went off-track but I'm so exhausted and fed up with Republicans that literally do not care about human lives in our country. Just exhausted. https://www.cpr.org/2020/04/15/polis-says-hes-offended-by-comparisons-of-his-stay-at-home-order-to-nazism/

Expand full comment

Living on an island the size of Manhatten, Galiano with 1,200 residents. Continue to live with greater gratitude. Live more with less.

Expand full comment
Apr 16, 2020Liked by Amee Vanderpool

Hi Amme! I’m so happy that you’re feeling better! I’m basically a homebody so this has been a good change, husband is working from home, so a little challenging! But I’ve been busy baking, trying new recipes, catching up on reading, walking with the dogs! Still chilly here in Maine but things are turning green, plants and trees are starting to bloom! We’ve definitely have had more time to reach out (FaceTime) with friends and family that we we were not able to do so easily previous this virus! If I need to get out I will pop in the car and head to the beaches ! Be safe and we’ll!

Expand full comment

It's funny, we used to live in Fairfax until 2 yrs ago. Didn't know anybody, everything was rushed, transient, rude and uncaring. We moved down to Orange. It's almost like when I was growing up in the 60's. Almost everyone waves at each other and or actually stops to BS, whether you know them or not! Kids out playing in the dirt, riding bikes, getting pulled in wagons. Anyways, we already adjusted to way less people around & a bit slower lifestyle, along with planning way ahead due to distance involved to get to anything. Some things I have noticed while cruising around the state (gotta keep the PSAPS running!): Coming up 95 or off the Blue Ridge you could always tell where NoVa/DC was due to the brown/black smudge on the horizon hanging over it, it's now gone! I had to run up to Laurel on Monday and appreciate the normal traffic. I still don't get why people ride up the toll lanes when the main lanes are wide open, habits I suppose. My main change is not stopping at little stores/whatever while out and about.Wife has some serious health issues so cannot afford to bring anything home. We have been calling my parents a bit more and have also developed a major puzzle addiction! Work stress and worrying in general have unfortunately restarted my on/off/on/off/on/off affair with cigarettes again. I really hope a lot of people get used to working from home and realize there is no need to waste their lives commuting. I also hope that a lot of the flaws exposed get corrected: Lack of cell coverage, poor internet, poor disaster planning, lack of ANY planning & spotty medical care. I really do not want to go back to the old normal. The lack of cars, etc has really cleaned up the air and water. We need universal health care not tied to a work place. We used to invest in resiliency during the cold war, we need to go back to that. We don't need the fanciest electronic systems, we need ones that scale up and work when needed. We need stockpiles of various equipment/supplies. We need to start talking to each other again and just leave the politics of hate behind. I am also hoping there is some sort of major rent/credit forgiveness after this instead of forbearance. I hope enough people demand healthcare & living wages and break the corporate greed cycle.

Anyways, sorry for the disjointed, rambling post!

Expand full comment

Great post

Expand full comment